Skip to main content

Meet Your 2015 Gold Glove Winners

It was only last week that the Kansas City Royals closed out the 2015 MLB season with a World Series win over the New York Mets. But we're not done with baseball quite yet. After the postseason is awards season. And it kicked into high gear last night when Major League Baseball announced the 18 players who will add a Gold Glove to their trophy case.

Those are the winners at the top of the page, but in case you don't recognize them all here's the list:

American League

P: LHP Dallas Keuchel, Houston Astros
C: Salvador Perez, Kansas City Royals
1B: Eric Hosmer, Royals
2B: Jose Altuve, Astros
SS: Alcides Escobar, Royals
3B: Manny Machado, Baltimore Orioles
LF: Yoenis Cespedes, formerly Detroit Tigers
CF: Kevin Kiermaier, Tampa Bay Rays
RF: Kole Calhoun, Anaheim Angels

National League

P: RHP Zack Greinke, Los Angeles Dodgers
C: Yadier Molina, St. Louis Cardinals
1B: Paul Goldschmidt, Arizona Diamondbacks
2B: Dee Gordon, Miami Marlins
SS: Brandon Crawford, San Francisco Giants
3B: Nolan Arenado, Colorado Rockies
LF: Starling Marte, Pittsburgh Pirates
CF: A.J. Pollock, Diamondbacks
RF: Jason Heyward, Cardinals 

"I'm extremely proud because I take pride in my defensive ability," Keuchel said, according to "I'm an extreme competitor, and if the ball gets by me... Inside I'm pretty heated. Whatever I can do to possibly get an out and shorten the game, I'm going to do it."

Here are some of the best plays by this year's Gold Glove winners:

With the Gold Gloves out of the way, the Silver Sluggers will be announced at the end of the week, followed by the big awards — MVP, Cy Young, Rookie of the Year — coming next week.

Photos: Major League Baseball

2015 mlb gold gloves