Skip to main content

Watch: North Carolina wins men's lacrosse championship in OT

North Carolina defeated Maryland in overtime to claim the NCAA men's lacrosse championship. 
  • Author:
  • Publish date:

North Carolina upset No. 1 Maryland to win the NCAA men's lacrosse championship on Monday.

With the win, the Tar Heels became the first unseeded team to win the championship tournament in its 46-year history. The win also makes the Tar Heels the lacrosse champions in both men's and women's play, the first school to do so since 1994.

With the game tied at 13 in overtime, the Tar Heels were a man down when goalie Brian Balkam made a huge save to preserve the tie.

Less than two minutes later, North Carolina had a man advantage, and Chris Cloutier secured the Tar Heels' title by slinging the game-winning goal into the back of the net.

Maryland ended its season at 17–3, and has not won a national title since 1975.