Skip to main content

Nine MLBers Named Defensive Players of the Year

Hot on the heels of the Gold Gloves comes another major league honor: Wilson Defensive Player of the Year. The awards were announced last night and recognize the top defensive position players in Major League Baseball.

According to Wilson, the winners were determined "using a formula that combines traditional defensive stats with advanced metrics, as well as the data logged by the baseball experts working for the scouting service Inside Edge."

Atlanta Braves shortstop Andrelton Simmons was named the overall Defensive Player of the Year. What earned him the nod? Glad you asked! This highlight reel provides ample evidence for his defensive skill:

wilson defensive player of the year 2015

Here's the full award-winning lineup:

P: Jacob deGrom – New York Mets
C: Buster Posey – San Francisco Giants
1B: Paul Goldschmidt – Arizona Diamondbacks
2B: Dee Gordon – Miami Marlins
3B: Nolan Arenado – Colorado Rockies
SS: Andrelton Simmons – Atlanta Braves
LF: Starling Marte – Pittsburgh Pirates
CF: Kevin Pillar – Toronto Blue Jays
RF: Jason Heyward – St. Louis Cardinals

The Diamondbacks were also named Defensive Team of the Year.

The next awards to be handed out are the Silver Sluggers, which will be announced tonight.

Photo: Wilson