Skip to main content

PFA Team of the Year features four Leicester, Tottenham players

The 2016 Professional Footballers Association Team of the Year was revealed Thursday.
  • Author:
  • Publish date:

Get breaking news and SI’s biggest stories instantly. Download the new Sports Illustrated app (iOS or Android) and personalize your experience by following your favorite teams and SI writers.

The 2016 Professional Footballers Association​ Team of the Year was revealed Thursday, with Premier League title chasers Leicester City and Tottenham dominating the squad with four players apiece.

Leicester City’s Riyad Mahrez, N’Golo Kante, Jamie Vardy and Wes Morgan all made the cut, while Tottenham’s Harry Kane, Toby Alderweireld, Danny Rose and Dele Alli also earned spots.

Arsenal’s Hector Bellerin, Manchester United’s David de Gea and West Ham’s Dimitri Payet round out this year’s squad. Big-spending clubs Chelsea, Manchester City and Liverpool were shut out from representation, while Arsenal's Mesut Ozil, who is on the six-player shortlist for PFA Player of the Year, did not make the Team of the Year.

The full PFA Team of the Year squad is:.

GK: David de Gea, Manchester United

RB: Hector Bellerin, Arsenal

LB: Danny Rose, Tottenham

CB: Toby Alderweireld, Tottenham

CB: Wes Morgan, Leicester City

RM: Riyad Mahrez, Leicester City

CM: N'Golo Kante, Leicester City

CM: Dele Alli, Tottenham

LM: Dimitri Payet, West Ham

ST: Harry Kane, Tottenham

ST: Jamie Vardy, Leicester City