Skip to main content

Groups drawn for men's, women's 2016 Olympic soccer tournaments

The U.S. women will play France, Colombia and New Zealand in Brazil this summer as they defend their Olympic gold medal.
  • Author:
  • Publish date:

The U.S. women's national team will play France, Colombia and New Zealand in its Olympic group this summer as it attempts to win a fourth straight gold medal.

The draws for the men's and women's tournaments were conducted Thursday at the Maracanã stadium in Rio de Janeiro, which will host both finals.

The U.S. women will play New Zealand on August 3 and France on August 6, both in Belo Horizonte. They'll conclude group play in the Amazon city of Manaus on August 9 against Colombia, which it just beat twice by a combined scored of 10-0.

Defending men's gold medalist Mexico drew Germany, South Korea and Fiji. Host Brazil, which is expected to field Neymar as one of its over-age players, draw South Africa, Iraq and Denmark and will aim to win its first Olympic gold medal.

Eight of the 12 women's teams will advance to the knockout stage (top two in each group plus the best two third-place finishers), while the top two in each men's group will reach the quarterfinals.

Here are the groups for the men's and women's Olympic tournaments:


Group A: Brazil, South Africa, Iraq, Denmark

Group B: Sweden, Colombia, Nigeria, Japan

Group C: Mexico, Germany, South Korea, Fiji

Group D: Argentina, Portugal, Algeria, Honduras


Group E: Brazil, China, Sweden, South Africa

Group F: Canada, Australia, Zimbabwe, Germany

Group G: USA, New Zealand, France, Colombia