Skip to main content

Walcott, Wilshere, Xhaka lead Arsenal vs. MLS's best in All-Star Game

U.S. men's national team prospect Gedion Zelalem is also part of Arsenal's squad that will face MLS's All-Stars without Alexis Sanchez, Olivier Giroud and Mesut Ozil.
  • Author:
  • Publish date:

MLS's All-Star Game takes place Thursday night, with the league's finest taking on Arsenal at the San Jose Earthquakes' Avaya Stadium (7:30 p.m., ESPN).

The annual summer spectacle pits MLS against a foreign club for a 12th straight season, with Arsenal following the likes of Manchester United, Bayern Munich, Tottenham and Chelsea among those who have come stateside to take part in the game. Arsenal will be without Alexis Sanchez, Olivier Giroud and Mesut Ozil, fresh off their participation in Copa America and Euro 2016, but Theo Walcott, Santi Cazorla, Jack Wilshere and new signing Granit Xhaka lead the Gunners. Arsenal also boasts U.S. national team prospect Gedion Zelalem, who is back after spending last season on loan with Rangers.

MLS counters with a star-studded roster led by Sebastian Giovinco, Didier Drogba, David Villa, Andrea Pirlo and Kaka, who will captain the side a year after winning game MVP honors. Among the U.S. men's national team contingent suiting up for MLS are Clint Dempsey, Jermaine Jones, Darlington Nagbe and Kyle Beckerman, while Chris Wondolowski and David Bingham will do so representing the hometown Earthquakes.

Here's who will be taking part in Thursday night's match:



GOALKEEPERS: David Bingham (San Jose Earthquakes), Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union)

DEFENDERS: Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Matt Besler* (Sporting Kansas City), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Laurent Ciman (Montreal Impact), Andrew Farrell (New England Revolution), Liam Ridgewell* (Portland Timbers), Keegan Rosenberry (Philadelphia Union), Jelle Van Damme (LA Galaxy), Brandon Vincent (Chicago Fire), Kendall Waston (Vancouver Whitecaps FC)

MIDFIELDERS: Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Mauro Diaz (FC Dallas), Giovani dos Santos (LA Galaxy), Jermaine Jones (Colorado Rapids), Kaká (Orlando City SC), Sacha Kljestan (New York Red Bulls), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Andrea Pirlo (New York City FC), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC)

FORWARDS: Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Didier Drogba (Montreal Impact), Sebastian Giovinco (Toronto FC), Cyle Larin (Orlando City SC), Ignacio Piatti (Montreal Impact), David Villa (New York City FC), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

* - Out with an injury


GOALKEEPERS: Petr Cech, David Ospina, Emiliano Martinez

DEFENDERS: Hector Bellerin, Krystian Bielik, Calum Chambers, Mathieu Debuchy, Kieran Gibbs, Rob Holding, Nacho Monreal

MIDFIELDERS: Santi Cazorla, Francis Coquelin, Mohamed Elneny, Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, Jeff Reine-Adelaide, Chris Willock, Jack Wilshere, Granit Xhaka, Gedion Zelalem

FORWARDS: Chuba Akpom, Joel Campbell, Alex Iwobi, Theo Walcott