Skip to main content

Pots for 2016 Copa America Centenario draw announced

The pots for Sunday’s 2016 Copa America Centenario draw have been announced.
  • Author:
  • Publish date:

The pots for Sunday’s 2016 Copa America Centenario draw have been announced.

The four previously announced seeded countries—the USA, Mexico, Brazil and Argentina—will occupy the first pot. The other four CONCACAF nations and eight CONMEBOL countries will fall into the next three pots. Here’s how they’ll look:

Pot 1 (Seeded Nations): United States, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina
Pot 2 (CONMEBOL - higher ranked nations): Colombia, Chile, Ecuador, Uruguay
Pot 3 (CONCACAF - qualified nations): Costa Rica, Haiti, Jamaica, Panama
Pot 4 (CONMEBOL - remaining nations): Bolivia, Paraguay, Peru, Venezuela

The four group pots will contain one nation from each of the four groups, as follows:

Pot 5: A1, B1, C1, D1
Pot 6: A2, B2, C2, D2
Pot 7: A3, B3, C3, D3
Pot 8: A4, B4, C4, D4

The draw for the tournament, which the United States is set to host, will take place in New York City at 7:30 p.m. ET on Sunday.