Skip to main content

NHL award winners: Patrick Kane wins the Hart Trophy (Full results)

Patrick Kane also won the Ted Lindsey Award, which is awarded to the most outstanding player as voted by fellow players.
  • Author:
  • Publish date:

Your teams. Your favorite writers. Wherever you want them. Personalize SI with our new App. Install on iOS or Android.​

The biggest hockey stars gathered at the Hard Rock Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas for the 2016 NHL Awards on Wednesday night.

Patrick Kane took home the The Hart Trophy for the player voted most valuable to his team. Kane is coming off a season in which he set a career-best of 46 goals and 60 assists and led the league in scoring. He also won the Ted Lindsay Award, which is awarded to the most outstanding player as voted by fellow players. He won the award over Jamie Benn of the Dallas Stars and Braden Holtby of the Washington Capitals. 

MUIR: Picking the winners

Artemi Panarin of the Chicago Blackhawks won the Calder Trophy as the NHL's top rookie.

The Vezina Trophy for the League’s top goaltender went to Holtby, who posted a 48-9-7 record this season. His coach Barry Trotz won the Jack Adams Award for the league’s top  coach for a season in which he led Washington to a 56-18-8 record and the Presidents’ Trophy with 120 points.

Jim Rutherford of the Pittsburgh Penguins won the NHL General Manager of the Year award. The Penguins finished the season 48-26-8 before winning the Stanley Cup.

• Vladimir Tarasenko talks NHL 17 cover, Las Vegas and World Cup

Florida Panthers forward Jaromir Jagr won the Masterton Trophy for perseverance and dedication to hockey.

The Norris Trophy for the league’s top defenseman went to Drew Doughty of the Kings.

The William M. Jennings Trophy winners, for goaltenders having played a minimum of 25 games for the team with the fewest goals scored against them, are Frederik Andersen and John Gibson of the Anaheim Ducks.

• NHL Board of Governors votes to expand to Las Vegas

Mark Giordano of the Calgary Flames received the NHL Foundation Award for his charitable efforts. The King Clancy Memorial Trophy for leadership on and off the ice and community contribution was awarded to Vancouver Canucks captain Henrik Sedin, while Shea Weber of Nashville Predators received the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award.

The Lady Byng Trophy, for the player best combining sportsmanship and ability, went to Los Angeles Kings star Anze Kopitar who also took home the Selke Award as the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game.