Skip to main content

Gostisbehere, McDavid, Panarin named Calder Trophy finalists

Flyers defenseman Shayne Gostisbehere, Oilers forward Connor McDavid and Blackhawks forward Artemi Panarin have been named the Calder Trophy finalists.
  • Author:
  • Publish date:

Get breaking news and SI’s biggest stories instantly. Download the new Sports Illustrated app (iOS or Android) and personalize your experience by following your favorite teams and SI writers.

Flyers defenseman Shayne Gostisbehere, Oilers forward Connor McDavid and Blackhawks forward Artemi Panarin have been named the Calder Trophy finalists.

The annual award is given to the league’s best rookie, and the winner is selected in a vote by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association.

Florida Panthers defenseman Aaron Ekblad won the award last year.

Panarin led all rookies this season with 77 points, tallying 30 goals and 47 assists while playing in 80 games. Gostisbehere finished the season with 46 points in 64 games, the most of any rookie defenseman this season. Gostisbehere also had a 15-game point streak, an NHL record for a rookie defenseman and a Flyers record for rookies.

Leafs win top pick at 2016 NHL draft lottery

McDavid missed 37 games after breaking his clavicle on Nov 3. Prior to getting injured, the 19-year-old and first round pick of the 2015 draft recorded five goals and seven assists in 13 games. The forward returned to action on Feb. 2 and finished the season with 48 points. No Oilers player has ever won the Calder Trophy and McDavid is the first finalist since Ryan Nugent-Hopkins in 2012.

The Calder Trophy winner will be announced during 2016 NHL Awards on June 22 in Las Vegas.