Skip to main content

Cubs, Red Sox lead way in MLB All-Star Game selections

The MLB announced the rosters for the 2016 All-Star Game on Tuesday night.
  • Author:
  • Publish date:

Your teams. Your favorite writers. Wherever you want them. Personalize SI with our new App. Install on iOS or Android.​

MLB announced the rosters for the 2016 All-Star Game on Tuesday night.

The Chicago Cubs led the way with five players selected as starters, followed by the Boston Red Sox with four. (The teams had seven and six players, respectively, selected in total.) Kansas City Royals catcher Salvador Perez was the lead vote-getter overall, while Cubs first baseman Anthony Rizzo was tops among NL players. 

The game’s starters were voted in by the fans, while the reserves are chosen by a combination of player voting and managerial selection. 

This year’s game will be played on July 12 at 8 p.m. ET at Petco Park in San Diego.

You can view the entire list of All-Stars below.

American League 


C - Salvador Perez, Kansas City Royals

1B - Eric Hosmer, Kansas City Royals

2B - Jose Altuve, Houston Astros

3B - Xander Bogaerts, Boston Red Sox

SS - Manny Machado, Baltimore Orioles

OF - Mike Trout, Los Angeles Angels

OF - Jackie Bradley Jr., Boston Red Sox

OF - Mookie Betts, Boston Red Sox

DH - David Ortiz, Boston Red Sox


Edwin Encarnacion, Toronto Blue Jays

Eduardo Nunez, Minnesota Twins

Francisco Lindor, Cleveland Indians

Ian Desmond, Texas Rangers

Josh Donaldson, Toronto Blue Jays

Mark Trumbo, Baltimore Orioles

Matt Wieters, Baltimore Orioles

Miguel Cabrera, Detroit Tigers

Robinson Cano, Seattle Mariners

Stephen Vogt, Oakland Athletics


Alex Colome, Tampa Bay Rays

Andrew Miller, New York Yankees

Brad Brach, Baltimore Orioles

Chris Sale, Chicago White Sox

Cole Hamels, Texas Rangers

Danny Salazar, Cleveland Indians

Dellin Betances, New York Yankees

Kelvin Herrera, Kansas City Royals

Marco Estrada, Toronto Blue Jays

Steven Wright, Boston red Sox

Wade Davis, Kansas City Royals

Will Harris, Houston Astros

Zach Britton, Baltimore Orioles

National League


C - Buster Posey, San Francisco Giants

1B - Anthony Rizzo, Chicago Cubs

2B - Ben Zobrist, Chicago Cubs

3B - Kris Bryant, Chicago Cubs

SS - Addison Russell, Chicago Cubs

OF - Bryce Harper, Washington Nationals

OF - Yoenis Cespedes, New York Mets

OF - Dexter Fowler, Chicago Cubs 


Adam Duvall, Cincinnati Reds

Carlos Gonzalez, Colorado Rockies

Corey Seager, Los Angeles Dodgers

Daniel Murphy, Washington Nationals

Jonathan Lucroy, Milwaukee Brewers

Marcell Ozuna, Miami Marlins

Matt Carpenter, St. Louis Cardinals

Nolan Arenado, Colorado Rockies

Odubel Herrera, Philadelphia Phillies

Paul Goldschmidt, Arizona Diamondbacks

Wil Myers, San Diego Padres

Wilson Ramos, Washington Nationals


A.J. Ramos, Miami Marlins

Clayton Kershaw, Los Angeles Dodgers

Fernando Rodney, Miami Marlins

Jake Arrieta, Chicago Cubs

Jeurys Familia, New York Mets

Johnny Cueto, San Francisco Giants

Jon Lester, Chicago Cubs

Jose Fernandez, Miami Marlins

Julio Teheran, Atlanta Braves

Kenley Jansen, Los Angeles Dodgers

Mark Melancon, Pittsburgh Pirates

Noah Syndergaard, New York Mets

Stephen Strasburg, Washington Nationals