9 of 10

Clockwise from top left: Cy Young, Tris Speaker, Nap Lajoie, Connie Mack, John McGraw. Not pictured: Ban Johnson, George Wright, Morgan Bulkeley.

The two winningest mangers in baseball history, Mack and McGraw dominated the first half of the 20th century and their impact on the game still resonates. Cy Young's 511 career wins are baseball's most untouchable record. Ban Johnson founded the American League and helped establish its signature franchise in New York. George Wright was pro ball's first star as an outfielder with the 1869 Red Stockings. Tris Speaker is fifth on the all-time hit list and among the five greatest center fielders in the game's history. Lajoie has similar stature among the game's second basemen. Bulkeley was the NL's first president and is out of his depth here.

Text: Cliff Corcoran
Photo: TSN/Zuma Press/Icon SMI (4), Charles M. Conlon/TSN/Icon SMI

No votes yet