1 of 19

Siphiwe Tshabalala scored the first goal of the tournament with a 55th-minute strike against Mexico in Johannesburg. South Africa would settle for a 1-1 tie and -- despite some inspired play in the group stage -- ultimately become the first host nation in World Cup history not to advance.

Photo: Clive Mason/Getty Images

Average: 4.4 (8 votes)