1 of 10

The Stanley Cup was first presented in 1893 as the championship trophy of Canadian hockey. After the formation of the NHL for the 1917-18 season, the Toronto Arenas became the league's the first winner of what is now the most famous trophy in sports. The 1927-28 Rangers were the NHL's first U.S.-based team to win it, downing the Maroons three games to two in a series played entirely in Montreal. Of note was the Rangers' 44-year-old coach, Lester Patrick, coming off the bench in Game 2 to replace the injured Lorne Chabot in goal.

Photo: Bruce Bennett Studios/Getty Images

Average: 4 (1 vote)