1 of 10

The top sports moments to happen within the city itself, including neutral-site matchups such as college bowl games, super bowls, NCAA Tournaments, etc.

The inception of the "modern-day" World Series came in 1903, and the Phillies headed into the 1980 World Series as the only franchise of the 16 original teams not to have won a championship. That changed when they defeated George Brett's Royals in six games. As reliever Tug McGraw put it: "All throughout baseball history, Philadelphia has had to take a back seat to New York City. Well, New York can take this championship and stick it, because we're No. 1!"

Text: Abe Schwadron, SI.com
Photo: Walter Iooss Jr./SI

Average: 5 (4 votes)