Blogs: Dugout Dispatch

Smoltz, Biggio, Martinez, and Johnson Elected to Baseball Hall of Fame

2015 baseball hall of fame

The Baseball Writers Association of America has elected four new members to the Baseball Hall of Fame. A year after Atlanta Braves pitching greats Greg Maddux and Tom Glavine were called to the Hall, their rotation-mate John Smoltz was selected, along with two other pitchers who redefined the position — Pedro Martinez and Randy Johnson — and Houston Astros star Craig Biggio.

This was the first time on the Hall of Fame ballot for Smoltz, Martinez, and Johnson. Biggio got in on his third ballot. Johnson, though, was nearly a unanimous pick with 97.3 percent of the vote. Martinez earned 91.1 percent, Smoltz 82.9 percent, and Biggio 82.7 percent. 

A player must receive at least 75 percent of the votes cast to be enshrined in the Hall. In 2014, Biggio just missed the cut with 74.8 percent. This year, it was all-time great catcher Mike Piazza coming up just short (he received 69.9 percent of the vote).

The four newest members of the Hall of Fame will be inducted into Cooperstown on July 26. Here are some stats on these certified legends to tide you over until the summer ceremony:
More »

Mike Trout and Clayton Kershaw are your 2014 MVPs

mike trout clayton kershaw 2014 mlb mvp

The 2014 MLB season officially came to an end last night when the league and the Baseball Writers Association of America announced the year's Most Valuable Players. And there was no real surprise: Los Angeles Angels phenom Mike Trout was the unanimous choice as American League MVP, and in the National League Los Angeles Dodgers ace Clayton Kershaw picked up the National League MVP to go with the Cy Young Award he nabbed a day earlier.
More »

Kluber, Kershaw Win Cy Young

corey kluber clayton kershaw 2014 cy young

When 30 members of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America cast their votes at the end of the regular season, they made two decisions for the Cy Young Awards – one was obvious and the other a little more obscure. 

On Wednesday night, Clayton Kershaw of the Los Angeles Dodgers and Corey Kluber of the Cleveland Indians were officially named the best pitchers in the bigs. 
More »

deGrom, Abreu Named 2014 Rookies of the Year

jacob degrom jose abreu 2014 rookie of the year

Major League Baseball's awards season is in full swing, and last night it announced a couple big ones. New York Mets pitcher Jacob deGrom and Chicago White Sox first baseman Jose Abreu were named the 2014 National League and American League Rookie of the Year, respectively, and they both won decisively.
More »

MLB Names 2014 Silver Sluggers

silver slugger 2014

The end-of-season baseball awards train keeps rolling. Last night, Major League Baseball announced the winners of the 2014 Louisville Slugger Silver Slugger award. Nine players from both the American and National League were selected to receive silver bats based on their explosive play at the plate this year.

Here’s the winners list, along with their stats line:
More »

2014 Golden Glove Winners Announced

2014 mlb gold glove awards

Yesterday, Major League Baseball began its awards season by handing out a bunch of Golden Gloves. Those are your winners, up there at the top of this post. But here’s the list in case some of those faces don’t look familiar:
More »

San Francisco Giants Win 2014 World Series!

san francisco giants 2014 world series

KANSAS CITY, Mo. (AP) — Madison Bumgarner pitched five innings of near-perfect relief and the San Francisco Giants held off the Kansas City Royals 3-2 Wednesday night in Game 7 of the World Series for their third championship in five seasons.

With both starters chased early, this became a matchup of bullpens. And no one stood taller than the 6-foot-5 Bumgarner, who added to his postseason legacy with a third victory this Series.
More »

By Sport Blogs

By Date

BLOGS See all »