Blogs: Dugout Dispatch

Talking Legends and Scorekeeping at SABR Day in New York

max mannis sabr day 2015

On a nasty, icy say in New York City, when the talk of the town seemed to be the Patriots and their deflated footballs, many New Yorkers gathered to discuss our national pastime at the New York Public Library.

Saturday was the sixth-annual SABR Day, which takes place at chapters across the country, including in New York. The conference opened with some sadness. Chicago Cubs legend Ernie Banks passed away the night before. But there was excitement, too, as folks SABR’s Casey Stengel Chapter began to settle in to hear a great lineup of speakers. The three panels on the agenda included one about baseball legend Frank Robinson, another about what it's like to be an MLB scorekeeper, and a presentation about new information about Babe Ruth. 
More »

Cy Young Winner Max Scherzer Joins Nationals

max scherzer washington nationals

Spring Training is just a few weeks away — and the Washington Nationals look like their in it to win it in 2015.

At a press conference today, the Nats introduced Max Scherzer as the newest member of their rotation. The 30-year-old right hander spent the last five seasons with the Detroit Tigers, but after going 21-3 over 32 games in 2013 and winning the Cy Young famously refused to sign a contract extension. He dipped a bit in 2014, posted an 18-5 record in 33 games, but the drop off didn’t scare the Nationals. Washington signed Scherzer to a seven-year, $210 million contract, which was finalized this afternoon.

“I want to win, and that’s why I’m here,” Scherzer said. “I think this team is capable of winning, and winning a lot.”
More »

Smoltz, Biggio, Martinez, and Johnson Elected to Baseball Hall of Fame

2015 baseball hall of fame

The Baseball Writers Association of America has elected four new members to the Baseball Hall of Fame. A year after Atlanta Braves pitching greats Greg Maddux and Tom Glavine were called to the Hall, their rotation-mate John Smoltz was selected, along with two other pitchers who redefined the position — Pedro Martinez and Randy Johnson — and Houston Astros star Craig Biggio.

This was the first time on the Hall of Fame ballot for Smoltz, Martinez, and Johnson. Biggio got in on his third ballot. Johnson, though, was nearly a unanimous pick with 97.3 percent of the vote. Martinez earned 91.1 percent, Smoltz 82.9 percent, and Biggio 82.7 percent. 

A player must receive at least 75 percent of the votes cast to be enshrined in the Hall. In 2014, Biggio just missed the cut with 74.8 percent. This year, it was all-time great catcher Mike Piazza coming up just short (he received 69.9 percent of the vote).

The four newest members of the Hall of Fame will be inducted into Cooperstown on July 26. Here are some stats on these certified legends to tide you over until the summer ceremony:
More »

Mike Trout and Clayton Kershaw are your 2014 MVPs

  • Dugout Dispatch
  • Posted by: Dante A. Ciampaglia
  • November 14, 2014, 8:46 AM

mike trout clayton kershaw 2014 mlb mvp

The 2014 MLB season officially came to an end last night when the league and the Baseball Writers Association of America announced the year's Most Valuable Players. And there was no real surprise: Los Angeles Angels phenom Mike Trout was the unanimous choice as American League MVP, and in the National League Los Angeles Dodgers ace Clayton Kershaw picked up the National League MVP to go with the Cy Young Award he nabbed a day earlier.
More »

Kluber, Kershaw Win Cy Young

corey kluber clayton kershaw 2014 cy young

When 30 members of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America cast their votes at the end of the regular season, they made two decisions for the Cy Young Awards – one was obvious and the other a little more obscure. 

On Wednesday night, Clayton Kershaw of the Los Angeles Dodgers and Corey Kluber of the Cleveland Indians were officially named the best pitchers in the bigs. 
More »

deGrom, Abreu Named 2014 Rookies of the Year

  • Dugout Dispatch
  • Posted by: Dante A. Ciampaglia
  • November 11, 2014, 9:00 AM

jacob degrom jose abreu 2014 rookie of the year

Major League Baseball's awards season is in full swing, and last night it announced a couple big ones. New York Mets pitcher Jacob deGrom and Chicago White Sox first baseman Jose Abreu were named the 2014 National League and American League Rookie of the Year, respectively, and they both won decisively.
More »

MLB Names 2014 Silver Sluggers

  • Dugout Dispatch
  • Posted by: Dante A. Ciampaglia
  • November 7, 2014, 10:30 AM

silver slugger 2014

The end-of-season baseball awards train keeps rolling. Last night, Major League Baseball announced the winners of the 2014 Louisville Slugger Silver Slugger award. Nine players from both the American and National League were selected to receive silver bats based on their explosive play at the plate this year.

Here’s the winners list, along with their stats line:
More »

By Sport Blogs

By Date

BLOGS See all »

Manat Kaur